From Where

I am from the dust and bricks
Of a building site
From the bread in a sandwich making factory
I am from seeds planted in a cultivated garden
The fabric that clothes are made from
And the thread they are sewn with
I am from the polish that shines a brass plate
With initials
I am from cows in a milking parlour
The stench of pigs
I am from ingredients and utencils
I am from the hands that shape hats
From the wool of knitted garments
The man sitting crossed legged on a table.

Leave a Reply

