Indian Dreams

My Aunt’s friend told us

a story at day’s end.

The incense burnt in the room

As we sat in the gloom

And listened intently to what

She had to say.

She told of a wedding day

In India

So far away.

AS she described  the scene

Before our eyes

The sights and sounds of

New Delhi

Became real.

I felt I was walking along

Those oriental streets.

The people she described

I could meet.

As the years have passed

I have carried that story

In my heart.

Whenever I browse in a shop

Full of Indian things

A lot of happiness

That memory brings.

One thought on “Indian Dreams

Leave a Reply

